How to create new custom task

Hello all,

I am new in the flowable world so my question may look trivial, but anyway.
I need to add a custom task to the palette which basically an HttpTask with some already predefined values. I have added a new group and a new stencil to the stencilset_bpmn.json and all looks fine. But how I should specify what process it has to run? And where to add new logic for the task? Or where to define a list of properties available to a user in UI editor of the process?

It would be great to have something like step-by-step guide about how to add a new custom step with custom logic. Is such a guide exists?

Hi Alex,

I was planning to make such a guide. :slight_smile: You can check Java Service Task in Designer / Modeler

Regards
Martin

Thank you for your reply! I saw the thread you’ve mentioned. It helped a lot! Thanks!

But I’ve stuck on adding custom functionality to the backend and custom properties for the task to the UI. If you will finish your guide then please let me know :slight_smile: This would be a really life-saving tutorial.

I may need to clarify the question (it is possible that such a question may be simpler to answer or comment/give idea or example).

There is the HTTP Task in the palette. When a user uses this task - he needs to set a lot of Attributes/properties (Request Method / Request URL / Request body/ etc.).

And the question is:

Is it possible to create a copy of the “HTTP Task” and put it to palette (with a custom name, for example “My Predefined HTTP Task”) and once a user uses this task - it works really the same as HTTP Task (because, for example, it is just a copy or something inherited from HTTP Task, or just a reference to the original HTTP Task or anything else) but have some or all attributes/properties being predefined (specific method is selected by default, specific URL is set by default, etc)?

If it is possible - what is the current way to do so?