Restart Sync proccess doesn't resume long running proccess

I’m a Beginner in Flowable engine I have question regarding i have long running sync process i need to know how Spring boot Application handle Flowlowable engine restart does the running proccess can consume after restart the Spring Boot Application

Hello Gihan,

The term “process” is overloaded, are you using it to describe a business process or an execution (like a service task) that is long running? The answer to your question really depends on what you are describing, but to help you out I’ll describe how Flowable handles keeping track of a business process’s state.

In general Flowable database transactions to manage process state. These transactions span from one wait state to the next, if an error occurs the transaction is rolled back. In the case of an instance that is killed, the transaction would not be committed allowing another instance to pick up the business process at the last wait state. One way to introduce a wait state is to mark a task as asynchronous, which will cause the business process to wait and put a job in the job queue to be executed “later” (usually “later” is almost immediately). The job executer will pick up jobs in the queue and run them and retry them automatically if they error out.

Below I’ve linked an article on asynchronous tasks, it also discusses wait states in great length:

1 Like

Thanks for Reply here are sample of sync process user pro-vising task how should flowable do in case of restart the spring boot Flowable engine. what i found that there are no data in history for this process it can be dropped

If every one of your service tasks are executed synchronously, then if the application exits while the process is running there will be nothing saved to the database. This is because there are no wait states to trigger a commit to the database. As a result, there will be nothing to resume.