Flowable between two databases

Hi,

I have an application which has its own nosql DB. Now some objects in nosql DB need to be linked to Workflow objects and a comm layer needs to be created.

What I am looking at is running the flowable Rest in tomcat and communicating through REST between other software and this one. Can you please advise if it is a good way to do so?

Or if I should think of other ways?

PS : I am new to Flowable and Spring.

Thanks,
DP

Hi,

Using the HTTP task you can easily interact with other REST services:

https://flowable.org/docs/userguide/index.html#bpmnHttpTask

You can also implement service tasks and do the REST communication in Java yourself.
Using REST as a communication layer to the NoSql DB is a good solution, and then you can safe the unique identifiers to the objects as process variables.

As an alternative, you could also use an embedded approach, where the communication to the NoSQL DB is done directly in the service tasks (or by calling a Java class from the service task). This gives you a bit more options for custom logic.

Best regards,

Tijs

Thanks tijs. I am probably going to use a combination of both. I have another query that when I open flowable-tasks app deployed using tomcat the page just keeps on reloading. It only happens if there are open tasks. Following is the error in server console. Any pointers will be helpful.

2018-09-24 23:15:14.725 INFO 13120 — [nio-8080-exec-3] o.s.w.s.DispatcherServlet : FrameworkServlet ‘dispatcherServlet’: initialization started
2018-09-24 23:15:14.811 INFO 13120 — [nio-8080-exec-3] o.s.w.s.DispatcherServlet : FrameworkServlet ‘dispatcherServlet’: initialization completed in 86 ms
2018-09-24 23:15:34.126 ERROR 13120 — [nio-8080-exec-7] o.s.b.w.s.s.ErrorPageFilter : Cannot forward to error page for request [/libs/ui-grid_3.0.0/ui-grid.js] as the response has alrea