Basic Setup question

Hi all,

I already searched this board and SO for a solution but I didn’t find one.

I’m quite new to flowable and I like to setup flowable as REST service on my machine. I don’t intend to use the Java API and only want to use flowable through the REST API. Unfortunately, I can’t find a “setup guide” how to do this. I’m not a “Java guy” and not really used to use Tomcat.

System:
Windows Server 2016 (vHost)
JDK 10.0.1
Tomcat 9.0.7

I already tried to move the *.war files into the webapps folder of Tomcat. I also tried to move the lib folder content to Tomcat (this worked for Camunda). But I still get an HTTP 404 error when I try to access Flowable. In the Tomcat Manager, the Flowable apps are also not marked as “running” (I can’t start them manually). On the Catalina Bootup I get a bunch of Exceptions - see below (just one of many, at any flowable app):

19-Apr-2018 00:37:08.405 SCHWERWIEGEND [main] org.apache.catalina.startup.HostConfig.deployWAR Error deploying web application archive [D:\Tomcat\webapps\flowable-modeler.war]
 java.lang.IllegalStateException: ContainerBase.addChild: start: org.apache.catalina.LifecycleException: Failed to start component [StandardEngine[Catalina].StandardHost[localhost].StandardContext[/flowable-modeler]]
        at org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.addChildInternal(ContainerBase.java:746)
        at org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.addChild(ContainerBase.java:718)
        at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHost.addChild(StandardHost.java:703)
        at org.apache.catalina.startup.HostConfig.deployWAR(HostConfig.java:986)
        at org.apache.catalina.startup.HostConfig$DeployWar.run(HostConfig.java:1857)
        at java.util.concurrent.Executors$RunnableAdapter.call(Executors.java:511)
        at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(FutureTask.java:266)
        at org.apache.tomcat.util.threads.InlineExecutorService.execute(InlineExecutorService.java:75)