Initiating execution of workflow from Java Code

I have gone through getting started, where a workflow is called from main() method where deployment of process definition is done using XML(which is not my requirement in this case).

Apart from that I have also gone through Instant gratification

As per my understanding, I can use Flowable-Designer to create Flowable Diagrams in my IDE, another way to create workflow is using flowable-modeler endpoint.

I will be working in spring-boot(latest version) application and requirement is to create a service class which has the knowledge to initiate the execution of required workflow.
And in turn use this in other implementations accordingly.

I can also see here lots of spring-boot-starter projects avaialble, but again not sure which one suites my requirement.

Since, I am new to flowable and not very sure which way is possible to do, using flowable-modeler or flowable-designer in IDE, so pretty much in the dark at this point.

You should start with flowable-spring-boot-starter it contains and auto-configures all of the engines.

The Spring Boot starters auto-configure Flowable using a standard datasource and creates beans for most of the flowable services you’ll need to interact with. Instead of getting the RuntimeService from the ProcessEngine, you can simply autowire it in your service. As for deploying your models you can:

• place the model in resources/processes
  • add the flowable-rest dependency and deploy it via the rest API (flowable-modeler does this)
  • create your own endpoint that takes the model and deploys it using the RepositoryService

This blog post may be helpful if you need a little more guidance.

1 Like

Thanks @wwitt
I will explore the options you gave and get back again if I need any help :slight_smile:

What’s the way to deploy the process that I have build using flowable-modeler?